Empowered Voices | Electing a President in the United States of America
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-15941,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1200,qode-theme-ver-10.1.2,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.1.1,vc_responsive

Electing a President in the United States of America

Electing a President in the United States of America

The electoral process to nominate a candidate for a presidential election is usually called “the primaries,” but there are two different systems that states use: caucus and primary.

Unlike a primary, where residents simply cast their ballots, a caucus is a local gathering where voters openly decide which candidate to support. The caucus format favors candidates who have a dedicated and organized following because a small band of devoted volunteers can exert an outsized influence in the open setting of a caucus.

States choose whether they want to hold primaries or caucuses. Most states hold primaries but states like Iowa, Louisiana, Minnesota and Maine use the caucus system.

These primaries and caucuses are staggered, generally beginning sometime in January or February, and ending about mid-June before the general election in November. State and local governments run the primary elections, while caucuses are private events that are directly run by the political parties themselves

Political Conventions

Once the various primaries and caucuses are complete the process moves to the nominating conventions, during which political parties each select a nominee to unite behind. During a political party convention, each presidential nominee also announces a vice presidential running mate. The candidates then campaign across the country to explain their views and plans to voters. They may also participate in debates with candidates from other parties

Date State Democratic Republican
February 3 Iowa Caucus Caucus
February 11 New Hampshire Primary Primary
February 22 Nevada Caucus  
February 29 South Carolina Primary  
March 3 (Super Tuesday) Alabama Primary Primary
  American Samoa Caucus  
  Arkansas Primary Primary
  California Primary Primary
  Colorado Primary Primary
  Democrats Abroad Primary  
  Maine Primary Primary
  Massachusetts Primary Primary
  Minnesota Primary Primary
  North Carolina Primary Primary
  Oklahoma Primary Primary
  Tennessee Primary Primary
  Texas Primary Primary
  Utah Primary Primary
  Vermont Primary Primary
  Virginia Primary  
March 10 Idaho Primary Primary
  Michigan Primary Primary
  Mississippi Primary Primary
  Missouri Primary Primary
  North Dakota Primary  
  Washington Primary Primary
March 12 Virgin Islands   Caucus
March 14 Guam   Caucus
  Northern Mariana Caucus  
  Wyoming   Convention
March 17 Arizona Primary  
  Florida Primary Primary
  Illinois Primary Primary
  Northern Mariana   Caucus
  Ohio Primary Primary
March 24 American Samoa   Caucus
  Georgia Primary Primary
March 27 North Dakota   Convention
March 29 Puerto Rico Primary  
April 4 Alaska Primary  
  Hawaii Primary  
  Louisiana Primary Primary
  Wyoming Caucus  
Date State Democratic Republican
April 7 Wisconsin Primary Primary
April 28 Connecticut Primary Primary
  Delaware Primary Primary
  Maryland Primary Primary
  New York Primary Primary
  Pennsylvania Primary Primary
  Rhode Island Primary Primary
May 2 Guam Caucus  
  Kansas Primary  
May 5 Indiana Primary Primary
May 12 Nebraska Primary Primary
  West Virginia Primary Primary
May 19 Kentucky Primary Primary
  Oregon Primary Primary
June 2 District of Columbia Primary Primary
  Montana Primary Primary
  New Jersey Primary Primary
  New Mexico Primary Primary
  South Dakota Primary Primary
June 6 Virgin Islands Caucus  
June 7 Puerto Rico   Primary
NO CONTEST:  The Republican Party in each of these locations has canceled its 2020 primary or caucus.  All delegates are expected to be allocated to President Trump.  
Alaska – Arizona – Hawaii – Kansas – Nevada – South Carolina – Virginia
July 13 -16 Democratic Convention (Milwaukee, WI)
August 24 – 27 Republican Convention (Charlotte, NC)
September 29 First Presidential Debate (South Bend, IN)
October 7 Vice Presidential Debate (Salt Lake City, UT)
October 15 Second Presidential Debate (Ann Arbor, MI)
October 22 Third Presidential Debate (Nashville, TN)
November 3 2020 Presidential Election

Chart source – https://www.270towin.com/2020-election-

No Comments

Post A Comment